Jibber Jabber #1

I had the most interesting experience yesterday, which prompted me to create/write a blog post. I’ve tried blogging quite a few times actually, but none of them have really stuck because, to be honest, I never really feel like I have something all that interesting to say… not in an “I’m Boring” kind of way (because those of you that know me, know that ISN’T True :D) but more in a “meh, later” kind of way.

ANYWAY, yesterday I was at the hospital visiting my Dad. A few weeks ago he had a motorcycle accident and since then has been either waiting for surgery OR recovering. Last week he was transferred to the St. John Rehabilitation Hospital. It is a place where people go after a bad accident/fall/unfortunate event etc. and need to learn how to adapt back to regular life.

As my sister and I were leaving, a gentleman called and asked us to hold the elevator. When I looked out to see him coming, I felt a whole wave of emotions. Shock, Horror, Sadness and finally Wonder. The man that had come into the elevator was missing half his face. Most of his scalp was burned off, and had only sparse hair left. He was also missing fingers his right and his right eye. In the elevator he asked my sister and I to help him find the kitchen so he could get a snack. As we walked him over (he was in a wheelchair) he told us that about 8 months ago he was in a horrible car accident. As we talked, I did EVERYTHING I could not to stare at his wounds.

I know this is totally cliche, but talking to this man totally shook me. First of all because I couldn’t imagine the pain that he must be in, but also, in the matter of seconds, his life changed forever. I wish I could tell you what it was about this man that stuck with me. Maybe because this is a second time in a matter of weeks that I’ve had the horrible realization of how quickly life can change (with Dad’s accident) or maybe it was the sheer closeness of the man to me (proximity wise) but the whole drive home, I couldn’t get the image of him out of my head.

I was also going through the list of people VERY important to me and how I would feel if it happened to either me or them. How would this affect our lives? It’s crazy that life can be altered so quickly. I know this isn’t anything new to the universe and I’ve heard it about a GAZILLION times before (Thanks LuLuLemon Bags) but life is precious. Life is a beautiful thing. I’m so blessed to have everything that I have.

From here on in, I’m going to try and figure out what it means to “Live in the Moment” because I honestly don’t even know what that means. My Moment right now is at work, just finished lunch, the sun is shining, I have a fresh bottle of water and I’m alive. That’s a pretty good start.

Leave a Reply

