I feel a BLOG coming on!

Ahh, Friday. Next to Monday, the most tortuous day of the week. Today especially because it is about 1 trillion degrees in my office for some reason (apparently A/C is a foreign term) and I’m just tired.

On a side note, I have started the process of loosing weight. For those of you who know me, I have a complicated history with weight loss. In first year university I gained probably about 20lbs (ouch). I felt bloated, gross and worthless. So, that summer, I joined weight watchers and just BLASTED the weight off and by the end of it, I had lost about 40lbs. UNFORTUNATELY, that weight didn’t stay off and within the next year and a half, I gained it all back.

Since then, I have pretty much maintained that weight (with a one time 10lb loss that I ALSO gained back). I had half heartedly tried to loose the weight again, but I knew full well that I wasn’t “ready”.

This time…I am 98% sure that I am ready. I’m not forcing myself to do this and I feel that this is a true lifestyle change for me.

There are a few reasons why I want to do this and why I’m ready:

1. Although my clothes still “FIT” I don’t feel comfortable in them, but I don’t want to/can’t afford to go and buy new clothes
2. I actually like “me”…I like me at the weight I am now, and feel beautiful and confident in who I am as a person, and not what size I am in clothing
–> My fantastic BF and Friends ahve  been amazing to me and has helped me to FINALLY reach this point. It hasn’t been easy
3. I have a healthier relationship with food now. I don’t loath it, I LOVE it, but I am ready to LOVE it in moderation…(how cliche, I know)
4. (this is a BIG one) I found Zumba. Up until February (when I found Zumba) I HATED exercise. I didn’t want to run, I didn’t want to join a Gym, I didn’t want ANY of that. However, I finally decided to give Zumba a try…and VOILA, I found my joy. Not only that, I found an AMAZING Zumba instructor who has encouraged and inspired me since the first class. Thanks to her, I’ve decided to get my instructor license and teach Zumba on the side in the fall.

I just really started by journey this week, but I am pulling EVERY resource I have to make this stick…plus, this time, I’m not trying to loose a crazy amount in a short time. My goal is 15lbs. It may not be my “BMI” weight, but I know it is my “happy” weight, one that is maintainable for me 🙂 I’m excited, nervous, scared and happy.

*fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

