Running Pains

So it has happened…my first running injury. It’s a bummer of an injury too (and no, it’s not my ego). I think I may have contracted Plantar Fasciitis.

Plantar Fasciitis (Fash-itis or Fa-shee-itis) is a painful inflammatory process of the plantar fascia, the connective tissue on the sole (bottom surface) of the foot. It is often caused by overuse of the plantar fascia or arch tendon of the foot. It is a very common condition and can be difficult to treat if not looked after properly. (Wikipedia)

The bad news is, it hurts almost all the time. The worst pain is when I wake up in the morning and take the first step. The pain comes and goes throughout the day, usually after I have been sitting at my desk for a long time.

The good news is, there are MANY runners out there who suffer from it and are still able to keep going. So that’s what I’m going to devote some of my blog to for the next little while is things I have done that have helped me (and in turn may help other runners too).

*DISCLAIMER* I will be going to the doctor to have it checked out, but my appointment isn’t until next week, so in the meantime, I have to treat myself. 

The first thing that I did when I  started feeling pain was consult a couple of the running mags that I had borrowed from my trusty running partner. I came across this AWESOME exercise (The guy is a little creepy, but he DEFFO had running feet which makes me trust him):

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/gbdlgvz4KwI.x?p=1 width=”350″ height=”350″]

It took me a few tries to get the exercise down pat, but after I did, it was AMAZING the relief I felt.

The next suggestion I received was from my Dad (who has suffered from this as well) and told me to freeze a water bottle and roll it under my arch. While this doesn’t necessarily fix the problem, it did provide some refief which was nice and felt really good.

Since I’ve been doing both of these exercises, I’ve only gone running once (holy cold weather much?) but my foot seems to be doing better every day. When I get up in the morning the pain is tolerable (still there though) and walking is easier.

Next up is some sort of orthotic because I suspect my flat feet need some support.

Stay tuned! P.S. The internet is a magical place for this kind of thing! P.P.S. It’s also a very dangerous place for this kind of thing. Now I’m worried I could also have metatarsalgia or merely an inflamed flexor digitorum brevis muscle! The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

