Peanut Butter Chocolate Dream Bars

Dream Bars Blog MRLKI don’t even know how to describe these to you. Think: crunchy crust, cheesecake-y filling, light and fluffy topping and epic chocolate & peanut butter chips on top. Dream doesn’t really begin to cover it…more like food-gasam. It’s that good.

This dessert came to me by way of a friend. We were having a games night & he politely requested (demanded) that I make them. Not one to pass up a baking opportunity, I obliged. I’m just that nice a person.

Two things happened the day I made these – First, I learned that I can’t play charades with my husband/this group of friends and second, I finally came to terms with the fact that I’m outrageously competitive.

For the longest time, I liked to pretend that I didn’t care about winning. That I just liked playing for the sake of playing and having a good time. However, this is my real life and I must admit – I don’t like to lose, I fucking love winning. UGGGGGGH it kills me to admit it, but its true. I, Lisa, am a sore loser. Sigh.

Now, with that out of the way…let’s talk more about how awesome these dream bars are. So, besides the fact these things are a chocolate peanut butter explosion in your mouth, they’re super easy to make. They do take a BIT of time to put together, but it’s worth every second.

PB Dream Bars MRLK2Peanut Butter Chocolate Dream Bars

Ingredients:

1 package of Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
4 tbsp salted butter, melted1/2 brick (4oz) Cream Cheese, Room Temperature
1/2 cup icing sugar
1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1 container Cool Whip
1 package instant chocolate pudding
1 1/2 cups 2% milk
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease (lightly) a 8×8 baking dish & set aside.

In a food processor (or using a freezer bag & rolling pin) crush the sandwich cookies until they are a fine crumb. Transfer all (except about half a cup) to a small bowl and combine with the melted butter. Once combined, press into the baking dish and bake for about 10 minutes. Remove from oven & set aside to cool.

While the crust is cooling, mix the milk and pudding until smooth & set aside to set.

Using a hand mixer (or your muscles, whichever you have) beat together the cream cheese, icing sugar and peanut butter until nice a fluffy. Add in about a cup of the cool whip. I personally used a little less because I wanted the cream cheese to be prominent, but it’s totally up to you.

Once the crust is COMPLETELY COOL (seriously, wait until it has cooled) spread the pudding over the crust. I didn’t use all the pudding, but that also is up to you. On top of that, add the peanut butter/icing sugar/cream cheese layer. Finally, top with Cool Whip. Now, I’m not a HUGE Cool Whip fan, so I didn’t go too crazy, but if you like it, make that layer nice and thick.

Finally, top with the 1/2 cup cookie crumbles & the peanut butter & chocolate chips. Put in the fridge for about 2 hours…if you can stand it!
Note: Original Recipe from 365 Days of Baking and More

Cut into bars to serve…or eat with a spoon, I won’t judge.

Enjoy!

Lisa

Leave a comment