#MyBixMix Challenge!

Weetabix – when you see that brand, what the first thing that comes to mind?

Weetabix Review |My Real Life KitchenFor me, it was “old people food” For some reason or another, that’s what I naturally associated it with. However, when I was asked to do a Weetabix challenge I thought “Why not, it’s been around for a long time, there must be something to this cereal” Plus, the lovely folks at Weetabix wanted me to come up with great mixes with the Weetabix that were both healthy & delicious. I like being creative, so I accepted the challenge.

Another thing that enticed me? Weetabix is made with four simple Non-GMO ingredients. Each two biscuit serving contains just 2g of sugar and is packed with whole grains. Weetabix is also low in fat and and high in fibre, helping to keep me full before lunch (and I ALWAYS get hungry an hour before lunch).

When I got the cereal, I have to say, I was surprised. It kind of looks like a hashbrown, but crunchy throughout. I thought to myself – what would I put on something like this to add flavour and make it really stand out? Once I brainstormed, I headed to the grocery store.

Here is what my list looked like:

  • Almond Milk
  • Almond &/or Peanut Butter
  • Raw Honey
  • Maple Syrup
  • Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Raspberries
  • Mango
  • Banana
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Shredded Coconut
  • Slivered Almonds (& other assorted nuts)

The first morning, I placed the two patties at the bottom of a bowl, poured almond milk over it then added shredded coconut and mango. It was really good. The patties got a little soggy near the end, but otherwise, it tasted great.

#mybixmix | My Real Life KitchenAt this point, Jon came over and was all “Whatcha got there?” and suggested that we turn it into a parfait instead. For some reason, I never considered crumbling up the Weetabix and layering the mixin’s. He’s a brilliant man, that Jonny.

So the next morning, that’s what we did. Layers of Yogurt, berries, chocolate chips & Weetabix.

Hot. Damn. Yum.

Crunchy, creamy, sweet. It was the most amazing breakfast & I was full all the way up to my regular lunch time. I also felt good about eating it and was surprised how satisfied I felt when I headed out to work.

Then, a funny thing happened. Jon started requesting it for breakfast. Every. Day. He would get up, make himself a coffee and start pulling things out of the fridge to come up with a new concoction. Here are some of our favourites:

#mybixmix | My Real Life KitchenHe is now completely obsessed and Weetabix is a staple on our grocery list along with the required mixin’s. Typically we don’t buy cereal & Jon NEVER eats breakfast, but now, every morning, he’s making a Weetabix. It’s kind of awesome.

So – by the end of this challenge, I have to say, my perception of Weetabix has completely changed. It’s a nutritious addition to your morning & I highly recommend you giving it a shot. If Jon loves it, you will too!

What would/do you put in your ‘Bix Mix?

– Lisa

Disclaimer: I received product to sample as part of this review but my opinions are 100% my own and honest. I actually loved the cereal (and my husband & I STILL eat it every morning & he is completely obsessed).

Leave a Reply

