Tomato Basil Soup + Glad Food Fresh Challenge

Tomato Basil Soup | My Real Life KitchenGuys…this soup is off the hook. For real. Like, it takes no time to make, it’s Gluten Free and can be made dairy free. My Dad has been making this soup for quite some time now as an appetizer and every time I eat it I tell myself I HAVE to go make a batch to freeze for lunches. I finally stopped slacking off and made a batch. Gaaaaaaaaah, so good.

Now, the best part of the soup (in my opinion) is the dill flavour. In my family, we are addicted to our homemade Dill Pickles & the pickle jice. Whenever we can, we add the dill juice in & this recipe is no exception. It’s totally optional so if you don’t like the taste of dill, don’t include, the soup will still be fabulous.

As if they knew I was about to make a bunch of freezer food, Glad sent me a bunch of their awesome stuff to try out (and to help keep my food from going bad). Among the products I was sent I got these AWESOME containers:

Glad Food Fresh Challenge | My Real Life Kitchen Glad Food Fresh Challenge | My Real Life Kitchen

Not only do the lids stack together (Good bye lost lids & HELLO AMAZING) but when closed, the containers stack perfectly on top of one another in the freezer. I’m obsessed with them.

When I was done making the soup, they held the perfect lunch size portion and kept the soup fresh until I was ready to eat. They also clean up like a dream, which is essential when freezing tomato soup in them.

Now, without further ado – here is your new favourite Tomato Basil Soup:

Tomato Basil Soup | My Real Life KitchenTomato Basil Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of crushed tomatoes(28 oz)
  • 1 can of chicken or vegetable broth (14.5 oz)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1 cup of pickle juice(optional)
  • 1 cup of milk (or coconut milk)
  • 1 tbsp of butter or margarine
  • 14-18 basil leaves, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Mix together tomatoes, broth, garlic and pickle juice and bring to boil.
  2. Turn it down and let simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. After the ten minutes add the basil leaves & stir in the milk.
  4. Finally, stir in the butter and let it cook until the butter melts.
  5. Serve immediately

Source: Family Recipe

Leave a Reply

