Quick & Easy Turkey Joes

Quick & Easy Turkey Joes | My Real Life Kitchen I have a confession…when it comes to cooking during the week, I’m pretty damn lazy. I don’t get home until 6:30, I’ve been out of the house since 8:30am, so the last thing I want to do is make dinner. If Jon gets home before me, he’s pretty good about making dinner, but that doesn’t always happen.

Due to my laziness, I’m always on the lookout for quick, easy and mostly healthy options. This is one of the first ones I cam across, and I believe I got it off of the Weight Watchers website (back when I was doing WW a couple years ago). Ever since, It’s been in my weekly meal arsenal.

Here’s what’s great about it – you can add virtually any vegetable you like, beans, rice. Whatever you like, add it in. It’s so freaking easy. It’s also fairly lean (since you use ground turkey or chicken) and you can customize it to your heart’s desire.

OH – and it makes enough so you can take it for lunch the next day. Making this is a Win-Win.

Quick & Easy Turkey Joes | My Real Life Kitchen

Quick & Easy Turkey Joes

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes
Serves: 6

Ingredients:
500g lean ground turkey (or chicken)1/2 cup chopped bell peppers
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 diced onion
1/2 cup BBQ Sauce of your choice
1 tsp garlic powder
6 whole grain buns (burger buns work well too!)
Optional: Cooked Brown Rice, Cooked Kidney Beans, Cooked Quinoa, Chopped Broccoli, Other Chopped Vegetables.

Instructions:

  1. In a frying pan, add the meat, peppers, mushrooms & onion and cook until meat is completely cooked throughNote: I’m not 100% sure this is the best way to good vegetables with meat. So, you can also cook the vegetables in one frying pan and the vegetables in another. Whatever you’re comfortable with. I try and use as few pans as possible, so I cook them all in one.
  2. Once meat is cooked, add the BBQ Sauce (I really like Honey Garlic & Hickory) and cook for about two minutes. Don’t be afraid to add more BBQ sauce. These are supposed to be sloppy!
  3. Scoop meat from pan onto the buns and serve hot!
  4. These are REALLY good the next day (since they soak overnight in the BBQ sauce). All you have to do is heat up the meat the next day.

That’s it. FOR REAL. So easy, so good.

Enjoy šŸ™‚

Lisa

Recipe Source: Weight Watchers Canada

Leave a Reply

