Chicken Dumplings

Easy Chicken Dumplings | My Real Life KitchenGuys……….I haven’t posted since June. What in the heck?

Let’s see, it’s been a really busy few months. Work kind of blew up, after getting a promotion (yay!) and a host of other things. I pretty much stopped cooking (at least experimenting). This summer was a lot of burgers and pasta. We were just NOT motivated to cook. I kind of stopped doing everything I liked doing.

That’s a lie…I was still eating. A lot. God I love me some food.

Anyway, I’ve recently been watching a lot of cooking shows, and there was one in particular (Chef at Home with Michael Smith) that started to get me jazzed about cooking again. I slowly crept back into the kitchen and re-introduced myself to all my favourite tools (Hellooooo Kitchen Aid Mixer).

Finally, the other day, I saw a recipe on Chef at Home that really inspired me. He was making Chicken Dumplings, and it looked SO DAMN GOOD and so easy, I thought, what the hell?

Let me tell you, I had one hell of a time finding wonton wrappers. I had to go to 3 different stores before finally giving up and heading to an Asian grocery store.

I put it off for a few days because I have wicked cooking anxiety (what if I eff it up?!) but finally, on Sunday, I sucked it up, and made a batch.

FACK YEA. These things are the most flavourful, tasty, savoury morsels I’ve ever made. I’m actually drooling thinking about them right now. You HAVE to make these. Right now. Like, NOW. They are SO easy, but you’ll feel like an kitchen rock-star.

Easy Chicken Dumplings
from Chef Michael Smith

Prep Time: 10 mins
Cooking Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes
Makes: 12-18 dumplings

Ingredients
1 raw chicken breast, diced2-3 green onions, chopped
1″ frozen ginger nub, finely shredded
1 tbsp cornstartch
1 tbsp oyster sauce
12-18 wonton wrappers

Instructions:

TIP: Freeze your nub of ginger before shredding. Just makes life SO much easier.

Combine all ingredients (except wrappers) in the bowl of a food processor. I added a little extra ginger, because I LUUUUUV me some ginger. The ingredients for this are by no means set in stone. It really depends on your tastes.

Mix until everything is evenly combined. I had to scrape the sides and mix again. If you don’t have a food processor, use ground chicken and mix everything together with a spoon in a bowl.

Next, lay out your dumpling wrappers. Using two spoons, scoop a small amount of the mixture into the middle of each wrapper.

Easy Chicken Dumplings | My Real Life KitchenGet a small bowl of water. Moisten two sides of the wrapper and fold in half. Using your fingers, create a tight seal around the edges push the filling to the middle.

Basically, make it tight enough so that filling won’t come spilling out. If you do that, you’re good.

If you’re feeling REALLY fancy (I was) fold the outside edges together, moisten the tip (sexual, much?) and you’ve got yourself a dumpling. Continue until you’ve made all of them. My batch made about 18.

Place the dumplings in a steamer, and cook for about 5 minutes. It doesn’t take long at all. If you don’t have a steamer, you can also cook them in a broth or just boil them in water. Steaming is definitely preferable though!

Sure, they don’t look especially beautiful, but I could eat these all day, every day. For realz.

Easy Chicken Dumplings | My Real Life KitchenGood luck, and ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

