Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs

Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs | My Real Life Kitchen

I have a problem…it’s actually a full blown obsession. I cannot stop watching Chef at Home with Michael Smith. My husband thinks I’m crazy because it’s one of the cheesiest cooking shows out there, but I just love how he explains everything to you. He explains why and how each flavour works together, he explains amazing techniques (is your lemon to hard to squeeze? Just zap it in the microwave for a few seconds), and he’s just awesome to watch.

It doesn’t hurt that he reminds me of Aiden from Sex and the City.

Anyway, my second recent obsession is reading cookbooks. Yes, reading them. There are so many amazing tips and techniques that I used to gloss over because I was searching for a recipe. Now, I take time to go through them and read every page. It’s like magic.

You know where this is going….

I found an AMAZING recipe in “Chef Michael Smith’s Kitchen : 100 of my favourite easy recipes” for something called “Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs” It’s just as easy as regular scrambled eggs, but just takes a wee bit more time.

I’m here to tell you, it’s totally frigging worth it. I’m not usually a huge fan of eggs (unless they’re slathered in Franks) but these I could totally eat plain. They’re rich, fluffy and savoury all at once.

I added garlic mushrooms to mine, but you can add anything you like!

Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs
Inspired from “Chef Michael Smith’s Kitchen : 100 of my favourite easy recipes”

Prep Time: 5 Minutes
Cook Time: 5 Minutes
Serves: 4

Ingredients:
8 eggs
Splash of cream or milk
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup butter (salted)

Instructions:
In a medium bowl, put in eggs and milk. Whisk your eggs thoroughly, this (along with the milk) helps encourages them to be fluffy. Stir in any “mixins” you may like – mushrooms, onion, peppers, cheese etc.

Place butter into a saucepan over medium heat. Keep stirring the butter until it melts. After about 30 seconds, the butter will start to bubble. This is the moisture in the butter evaporating off . Your butter will slowly start to brown. KEEP STIRRING. Never stop stirring!

When the butter is golden brown, add those eggs!

Cook the eggs by constantly stirring and scrambling. Stirring helps to keep the eggs nice and fluffy as well. You’re know they’re ready when they become nice and thick and creamy.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

