Healthy Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Healthy Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | My Real Life KitchenYOU GUYS!!!!!!!!

Like. I can’t even. I am so excited about these cookies.

Let me give you a little bit of background on these cookies.

Two things:

I’ve been trying to freestyle a bit more with my baking & cooking the last little while & experiment more. ALSO, My In-Laws are staying with us over the winter, and my father in law is a TOTAL cookie monster. I’ve made more cookies over the last two months than I have in a year.

So, I decided I wanted to make a cookie that was a little bit healthier than the short bread & other sugary treats I’ve been making. I headed up to my kitchen to explore & see what I could find.

I saw – ripe bananas, dark chocolate chips, peanut butter & some spices. My FIL’s fave cookie is oatmeal chocolate chip, so I decided to try something new.

This cookie is so healthy, you could eat it for breakfast. However, it’s so yummy, it takes like dessert. I just can’t say enough good things.

Take my word, just try it!

Healthy Peanut Butter Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies
Inspired by The Food Network

Prep Time: 5-8 mins
Baking Time: 14-16 mins
Makes: about 24 medium sized cookies

Ingredients:
3 ripe bananas (the riper the better)1 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup honey
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 cup dark chocolate chips
2 1/2 cups quick oats

Instructions

  1. Preheat the over to 350 degrees F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mash up the bananas with a potato masher or a fork. The riper, the better! They’re more sweet!
  3. Add in the peanut butter, honey, vanilla, cinnamon & nutmeg and stir until combined.
  4. Add in the oats and mix until combined. Finally, stir in the dark chocolate chips. The darker the better. MMMMMMMmmmmm. The dough will be pretty sticky & that’s totally ok!
  5. Using two spoons, scoop out dough & plop on the baking sheets. These cookies don’t really spread, so press them down with your fingers to flatten them a bit.
  6. Bake for 14-16 minutes. All depends on your oven, but they’re ready when the bottoms are golden brown.
  7. Transfer to a wire baking rack & enjoy!

These last for a few days at room temp, or up to a week in the fridge. Trust me, they won’t last that long!

Leave a Reply

