Toblerone Shortbread Cookies

Toblerone Shortbread | My Real Life KitchenAs you may or may not have read before, Christmas is like my all time favourite time of the year. The drinks, the parties…THE FOOD. There is just something special about the food this time of year. Maybe because it’s a little bit minty, maybe because it’s consumed with gratuitous amounts of alcohol…probably because of the alcohol.

Anyway, we have a lot of parties to go to and a lot of food to prepare. Typically I bake a lot of cookies and prepare a lot of dips. I always struggle with how to transport all my goodies. I mean sure, I could toss them in my missmatched containers or slap on some no name plastic wrap, but they always end up falling apart, leak and look very sad.

Anyway, GLAD offered to send me some amazingly festive containers to Toblerone Shortbread | My Real Life Kitchenhelp make my life easier. What I was MOST excited about was the ADORABLE Press and Seal. This stuff is my GO TO kitchen must-have. It sticks to virtually everything, creates a TIGHT seal and works for both refrigeration AND for the freezer.

I’m serious you guys, even if GLAD hadn’t sent me the Press N’ Seal, I would still sing it’s praises. It’s just the best.

I also looooove the containers. Lids snap together for easy storage, stack nicely and are the perfect size for transporting cookies and snacks around. Just plop on a bow, and you’ve got the PERFECT gift. They also look adorable if you’re just keep snacks on your counter.

Toblerone Shortbread Cookies | My Real Life Kitchen

Now, these Toblerone Shortbread Cookies were MEANT to hang out on the counter for awhile, but my Father-in-Law and Husband (who HATE shortbread btw) made short work of making these disappear.

This is probably the best shortbread I’ve ever made in my life. It was so soft and chewy and melt-in-your-mouthy. I can’t even. I just can’t.

Also, this recipe is ALL about the butter.

Toblerone Shortbread Cookies
Inspired by: The Emotional Baker

Prep Time: 8-10 mins
Total Time: 30-35 mins
Makes: about 25 cookies

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 cup (and a bit) SUPER soft butter
2 Mini Toblerone Bars (usually bought in a 6 pack)

Instructions:

Preheat Oven to 300 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or foil. You might need more or less depending on the side of your cookies.
In the bowl of your stand mixer, sift together the flour, cornstarch and icing sugar. Add the ooey gooey butter and mix together on low until a stiff dough is formed.
Roll dough into approx 1″ balls and placed on your prepared cookie sheets. Press 1 piece of a mini Toblerone bar into the center of your cookie. Make sure it’s surrounded by dough, you don’t want it leaking out the side. You should have about 24-25 cookies.
Put in oven and bake for 22-24 mins on the middle shelf. After about 20 mins, keep an eye on the cookies. Ideally they’re done when they’re JUST firm to the touch. You don’t really want them to brown. I found that with this batch the edges of my cookies got a little brown and that’s when I pulled them out!
When in doubt, pull them out and break one in half to check the consistency.
When they’re done, transfer to a wire rack to cool.
ENJOYY (and if you make these, send me one plzzzz)
Leave a Reply

