Soft Peanut Butter Pumpkin Puppy Treats

As I mentioned in my last post, I am taking a Junk Food hiatus for one month. Today is the first day, and so far so good, but we’ll see what happens when I get home tonight…

Also, as I mentioned, both my hubby and my puppy are joining me for this adventure.

My lil puddin pop!

Molly, is pretty much a dog vacuum. She’ll eat pretty much everything and anything that crosses her path…except vegetables. She will not eat them (except for carrots), so I wanted to find a treat recipe that was easy to make, and had some nutrients in them minus the “yuck” that comes in most dog treats.

Then I came across this recipe for Peanut Butter Pumpkin Treats. I loved that it combined peanut butter with pumpkin which means it fits perfectly into my fall baking series. After all, puppies deserve some Fall Baking too, right?

The verdict: Molly LOVES THEM so much. I used them to bribe her to let me trim her nails and they worked like a charm. They’d also be great for training purposes because they are soft and easy to break into small pieces.

 Plus, they’re super, super easy to make!

Soft Peanut Butter Pumpkin Puppy Treats
Ingredients:
1/2 cup natural peanut butter (best if there is no oil or sugar added)
1 cup pumpkin puree (not the pumpkin pie stuff, just the pumpkin)
1/2 tsp cinnamon 
1 & 3/4 cups of oat flour or whole wheat flour
Method:
Preheat your over to 350 degrees F.
In a mixing bowl, combine the peanut butter and pumpkin until evenly mixed. Next, add the cinnamon and the flour until all the ingredients are fully integrated. The dough should not be sticky. If it is, just add a tough more flour.
Next, you can either, roll out the dough, in between 2 piece of parchment paper until they are 1/4″ thick and cut out using your fave cookie cutter.

I don’t have ANY cookie cutters for some reason, so I just pulled dough off, rolled them in a ball and pressed them down with my thumb! Perfect little bite sized treats!

However you do it, place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake them for about 8-9 mins. I took mine out at 8mins and they were perfect. Slide the parchment paper off the cookie sheet and let them cool completely on the counter. 
You can store them for up to 2 days at room temperature and 5 days after that in the fridge!
It’s quite a bit of dough, so I only used half and put the rest in the freezer until this batch runs out! 
Hope your furry friend enjoys them!

4 thoughts on “Soft Peanut Butter Pumpkin Puppy Treats

  1. This fantastic post was very nicely written, and it also incorporates many good facts. I appreciated your skilled means of writing the post. You have made it simple for me to understand. Good and precise info.

    Kind Regards,

    Colin Seal
    dog electric bark collar

    Like

Leave a comment