Honey Lime BBQ Chicken {Clean Eating}

What a month May has been so far. First, was the Sporting Life 10K. I had done very little training beforehand (with the exception of a couple 5K runs) so I was pretty nervous about it. However, it went amazingly. With the help of my fab running partner, we KILLED the race and had a really great time. Later that day (same day) I played my first softball game of the season. I struck out my first time up to bat, but ended up on 3rd base my second time up, so I count that as a total win. I’m actually looking forward to the rest of the season.

The following week was a tough one. My Father in Law found that that he had 6, SIX, blocked arteries and needed immediate surgery. There were some complications, but he finally had the procedure last Thursday. He’s up and walking now at home and you almost wouldn’t know he had his chest opened just a week ago. That man is a true inspiration and a miracle that he is alive and with us now.

Finally, throughout all of that, Hubby and I were extremely ill. I mean, I couldn’t even talk, get out of bed or breath really for the better part of the week. My throat felt like I was swallowing glass every time I ate or drank anything. It was horrid. Now, we just have a cough and I’m still speaking with a bit of a wheeze, but that virus really knocked us on our butts.

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth AND I’m officially back in action. Also…SPRING IS FINALLY HERE!!! Which means it is time to BBQ, and eat outside and sit in the sunshine and soak up this amazing weather. Did I mention, it’s time to BBQ?

Last night we made this amazing Honey Lime Chicken from Kitchen Meets Girl and it is truly amazing. Like…I could eat this every night. It’s got an amazingly fresh flavour, not too sweet & it goes perfectly with roasted broccoli (recipe on that coming soon) and brown rice. I think I’m in love.

Now, I like to marinate my meat for a whole day, so typically, I make the marinade in the morning, before I go to work, coat the chicken and leave it in the fridge all day to really soak in the flavour. I also find the chicken is more tender and juicy when I let it sit in the marinade all day. However, if you marinade for at least 1 hour, you’ll still get incredible flavour. 

Honey Lime BBQ Chicken {Clean Eating}
Serves 4
Ingredients:
3 tbsp reduced sodium soya sauce
2 tbsp natural honey
1 tbsp vegetable oil
juice of 1 lime
1 tbsp garlic powder (OR 2 fresh garlic cloves, minced)
1 – 2 tsp Siracha (optional)
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
Method:
In a small bowl, whisk together all of the above ingredients. 
Place chicken in a glass dish and pour the marinade over top. Flip chicken so that is is evenly coated on both sides. Let marinate for at least an hour, or up to a full day (if you can!). 
When ready, BBQ on medium heat for 10-15 minutes, or until no longer pink on the inside.
Serve with brown rice and your favourite veggie side! 
 Enjoy!

Leave a comment