Healthified Buffalo Chicken Taquitos

Hello There Friends! I’m really excited to share this recipe with you. They were inspired by something that I saw on Pinterest (where else?) and the Healthified Buffalo Chicken dip that I posted a ways back. These things are epic. Crunchy, gooey, cheesy…epic.

However, before I get to those, I want to tell you a story. This is a story about a girl who has a blog and a big idea. She started blogging because she had discovered she really loved two things – running and baking. For those of you who aren’t following so far, this story is about me. The soul purpose of this blog was to share fitness & running tips along with sharing some of my favourite baked treats with you guys.

For almost two years, I’ve been blogging here. I’ve shared my woes, my joys and of course, my favourite recipes. Most of them are adapted from other recipes I’ve found on the internet, a couple are my own. For most of the time, they were posts about over the top, decadent treats. When I first started, I was running a lot, so I could bake those treats with all the sugar, butter and chocolate I could find.

Then real life hit. The following 1.5 years was a lot of emotional growth, trials and tribulations. I lost focus of why I started this blog in the first place. I became obessed with taking the PERFECT photo & if I couldn’t do that, I didn’t post. I felt like if it wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t worth doing (this is a common theme in my life, but more on that another time).

Anyway, the point to all that dribble drabble is that I’ve taken a step back and thought about what I want to do here. First and foremost, I want to keep cooking & baking and sharing my favourite recipes with you.

Secondly, I want these recipes to be (mostly) healthy. Eating well has always been really important to me, but even more so after I did the Whole30. I felt how good I could feel when eating a well balanced diet full of fruits and veggies. I want to keep that going and help show others that it doesn’t have to be hard to eat well.

Finally, I want to share awesome workouts, tips and tricks and share my ongoing journey with you.

The pictures might not be artsy & well laid out, the posts might be more spread out, but this blog is really important to me and I hope you’ll stick around to see where it goes. P.S. I love you for following me to this point.

NOW – onto these amazing morsels. 

I say that they’re healthified because I made them with light cream cheese, lower fat sour cream and poached chicken. I also rolled them up in whole grain tortillas (as opposed the the nutritionally empty flour tortillas).

Note: I made the chicken for these in the slow cooker to get them nice and moist and easy to shred. Feel free to poach or bake them, it’s totally up to you. 

These make a yummy meal (with plenty of leftovers) or a fantastic appetizer if you have a crowd.

P.S. I have no idea what a taquito is, but that’s what they’re called on Pinterest, and we all know Pinterest doesn’t lie. 

Healthified Buffalo Chicken Taquitos
Prep Time: 20-25min
Cook Time: 20-25mins
Serves 6-7

Ingredients:
2-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 2 cups)
8oz light Kraft Philadelphia Cream Cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup light sour cream
1/2 cup Frank’s Red Hot Sauce
3/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
6-8 large whole grain tortillas
Instructions:
  1. Before work (or in the morning) place chicken breasts in the bottom of a slow cooker (with about 1/4 cup of water) and cook on low for 8 hours. Alternatively, you can poach your chicken breasts if you don’t have all day.
  2. When ready to prepare, preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  3. Once chicken is fully cooked, shred it with 2 forks and place in the bowl of a stand mixer. You can do this by hand, but if you have a mixer, it’s much easier. Add cream cheese, sour cream, Frank’s & cheese.
  4. Mix until combined.
  5. Spoon a decent amount into the middle of a tortilla and roll up. Place “flap” down on the cookie sheet. 
  6. Continue until you’ve used all of the mixture.
  7. Place cookie sheet into oven for about 20 minutes. Once time is up, remove cookie sheet, turn all the taquitos over and bake for another 5 minutes.
  8. They’re ready when they’re sizzling and a nice golden brown on top.
  9. Remove & carefully cut in half – be super careful, they are HAWT.
  10. Serve with carrot and celery sticks & your favourite dip! Be careful when eating (especially if serving to children) because the middle is super, super hot (just ask the blistering roof of my mouth)

Inspired by: Chef in Training

That’s it! Hope you love these as much as I did!

– Lisa

Leave a comment