Banana Blondies with Brown Sugar Frosting

As you know, a big focus for this blog is healthy, yummy food. Ever since doing Whole30 in January, I have noticed how much better I feel when putting good food into my body. Eating healthy food doesn’t need to be boring and that’s what I want to share with you all.

That being said…I’m not a robot. I still love me some sugary desserts. Not only that, I was having company over and wanted to bake something special for my friend who can’t eat chocolate. You read that right, she CAN’T eat chocolate. It makes her extremely ill. How horrid is that???

Anyway, I was scouring Pinterest (as I do) to find an awesome chocolate free recipe. That isn’t an easy task. Almost everything has SOME form of chocolate in it. Then I found this epic post from Cookies & Cups. Banana Blondies with a scrumptious brown butter frosting. Brown Butter is the new thing, so not wanting to be left out of the craze, I couldn’t pass this one by.

These Blondies are super easy to make & come out all fudgy & dense and beautiful. I’m very sad that I don’t have more to stuff in my face right now. I made my friend and her partner take some home and I only had one (or 5 or whatever).

Without further ado…

Banana Blondies with Brown Sugar Frosting
Ingredients:
Blondies:
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg 
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup flour
1 medium ripe banana, mashed

Brown Sugar Icing:
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 tbsp milk
1 cup icing sugar

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Generously spray an 8 x 8 baking dish with cooking spray or butter. Make sure it’s nice and greased up.
  2. Using a stand mixer (or hand mixer) combine the melted butter and sugar until smooth. Add in the egg and the vanilla and mix until completely combined. (On a side note, at this point I got a HUGE piece of shell in the batter and I kid you not, it took me 5 minutes to scoop it out. Let this be a lesson – crack your eggs in another bowl before adding to your batter)
  3. Set mixer to stir – add in the salt, flour and banana and combine until smooth
  4. Pour your batter into your prepared baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes. Take out at 20 minutes and test with a toothpick. If it comes out wet and slimy, leave in for another 5+ minutes. It’s ready when the center of the blondies is firm but still spongy to the touch.
  5. When finished, remove and let cool for about 40 minutes.

The Frosting:

While the blondies are cooling – make your icing. This stuff is crack. It truly makes every difference with these blondies, so do not skip this step!

  1. In a medium pot, melt the butter. Add the brown sugar and milk. Keep stiring and bring to a boil. As soon as it starts to boil, remove from heat.
  2. Using a whisk, stir in the powdered sugar in batches. The icing will become nice and thick.
  3. Spread this glorious mixture on the blondies while they’re still warm.
  4. Let cool for a little while longer & serve
That’s it! Okay, it’s a little bit of work, but I promise you, they are SO worth it!

Enjoy! xo

Leave a comment