Slow Cooker Pulled Chicken Sliders

In all of the food trends that have happened over the years, pulled pork is among my favourites. I love the textures, the tangy bbq taste and the mess it makes when you eat it. HOWEVER, I don’t like make it at home. It’s not hard, I just don’t like doing it.

So, last month when I was doing Whole30, a friend of mine who is a whiz at paleo cooking, suggested I tried pulled chicken. At the time, I made my own Paleo BBQ Sauce and ate them on lettuce wraps. They were amazing and SO easy to whip together. They weren’t QUITE as good as pulled pork, but I still loved them.

After completeing Whole30, I decided to try them with a classic BBQ Sauce and make them into sliders.

OH. EM. GEE.

Perfection. Saucy, shredded, messy goodness. Easiest things to make and they are perfect for a party, dinner, lunch, breakfast (I may or may not have had one for breakfast this morning). A true crowd pleaser for sure. Plus, they have less fat (the bad stuff) than their pork alternatives. Win-win in my opinion.


Slow Cooker Pulled Chicken Sliders

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 8-10 hours
Serves: 6-8

Ingredients:
6 chicken breasts 
1 bottle of your favourite BBQ sauce (I used Diana’s Honey Garlic)
16 slider size buns

Instructions:

Place chicken breasts in the bottom of your slow cooker. Cook on high for 8 hours or 9-10 on low. I prefer the low and slow option.

When there is about 1 hours left to cook, take a peek. The chicken should be completely cooked at this point. There will be quite a bit of liquid at the bottom. Drain most of it off but leave a touch at the bottom for flavour. Using 2 forks, shred the chicken. It should just fall apart.

Pour the full bottle of sauce into the slow cooker and mix together. Put the lid back on and let cook for 1 more hour.

Serve with the slider buns (cut in half) and with your favourite side.

That’s it! Easiest meal ever!

Enjoy 🙂

– Lisa

Leave a comment